The 42nd annual art festival celebrates art in various media


Tulsa, Okla. (May 16, 2014) – Organizers of the 42nd annual Tulsa International Mayfest celebration awarded multiple commendations to festival artists this week, including the PSO Mark of Excellence award winner to a Youth Art Gallery artist.


Sean Tyler, a homeschool high school junior, a student at Heidi Contreras School of Art, and a Youth Art Gallery artist, received the PSO Mark of Excellence award and a $500 prize.  Tyler entered her mixed media floral painting called Field Trip, which is on display in the Youth Art Gallery at the Performing Arts Center until 3 p.m. on Sunday, May 18. Representatives from PSO will present Tyler with her award at 4:30 p.m. on Saturday, May 17, at the Youth Art Gallery in the Performing Arts Center.


“The fields were very competitive this year,” said Heather Pingry, executive director of Mayfest.  “We’ve got amazing artists that entered very high-quality work.  Our judges had a tough decision, and the winners are quite deserving.”


Visual/juried artists are the artists that show their work in outdoor booths at Mayfest.  These winners are awarded in various categories, and are as follows:


Photography – Tracy Peterson Saldo

Painting – Christopher Westfall

Graphics/Printmaking – Vicki Bolen

Glass – Sandra Kaye

Clay – Frank Campbell

Metal – Dennis Conner

Mixed Media – Linda Tong

Leather/Fiber – Brockman Leather

Jewelry – Mark Jiminez

Digital – Bob Collier Jewett

Drawing – Dennis Rhodes




The Invitational Gallery, set in the lobby of the Williams towers, crowned three winners.  They are:


1st – Matthew Bearden for his acrylic on canvas, Governor Joe

2nd – Nathan Opp, for his oil on paper, Mudhra Series #8

3rd – C (Elizabeth) Smathers for her turned cottonwood bowl, Vortex


Youth Art Gallery awards are given in two categories for each age group.  The youth awards are as follows:


Kindergarten to Second Grade


1st – Shea Jackson – Monte Cassino

2nd – Ellie Nair – Zarrow

3rd – Samantha Contreras – Jenks West, Heidi Contreras School of Art



1st – Madeline & Joel Guenther – Heidi Contreras School of Art

2nd – Noah Phetsacksith – Grissom Elementary

3rd – Michael Bassett – All Saints


Honorable Mention

Max Bruner – Monte Cassino


Third Grade to Fifth Grade


1st – Caleb Tham, Heidi Contreras School of Art

2nd – Lily Jiang, Jenks East Intermediate

3rd – David E. Garcia, Union Briarglen Elementary



1st – Andrei Mikhailov – Undercroft / Heidi Contreres School of Art

2nd – Sophia Rapacki – Monte Cassino

3rd – Brynley Smith – Lake Country


Honorable Mention

Rebecca Robinson Lindbergh Elementary


Sixth to Eighth Grade


1st – Ashley Wyatt – Oneta Ridge Middle School, Broken Arrow

2nd – Julie Orellana – Homeschool / Heidi Contreras School of Art

3rd – Alexis Boylan – Oneta Ridge Middle School, Broken Arrow



1st – Lauren Floyd – Oneta Ridge Middle School, Broken Arrow

2nd – Jasmine Marble – Childers

3rd – Logan Bailey – Childers


Honorable Mentions

Vive Bock – Monte Cassino

Piper Tully – Childers

Kate Kouplen – Jenks

April Katey – Oneta Ridge Middle School

Taylor Woodward, 8th, Oneta Ridge Middle School

Corrine Travis – Oneta Ridge Middle School

Jillian Shock – Childers

Mason Mitchell II – Childers



Ninth to Tenth Grade


1st – Peter Gerstenberger – Metro Christian High School

2nd – Sandra Durate – East Central High School

3rd – Allison Childress – East Central High School



1st – Michael Seyuer – South Intermediate Broken Arrow

2nd – Meagan Foreman – South Intermediate Broken Arrow

3rd – Ulisses Arredondo – East Central High School


Honorable Mentions

Bailey Wyatt – Metro Christian

Lauryn Whitehorn – Skiatook

Lizzy Chapman – Metro Christian

Kevonna Everidge – East Central

Loren Park – Skiatook



Eleventh to Twelfth Grade


1st – Giselle Lara – East Central High School

2nd – Liliana Rios-Garcia – East Central High School

3rd – Suah Cho – Victory Christian



1st – Raul Contreras – East Central

2nd – Emily Rose – Metro Christian

3rd – Rakeem Ford – Central High School


Honorable Mentions

Brenda Serna – East Central

McKenzie Park – Skiatook

Lucero Peralta – East Central

Stephanie Portillo – East Central

Hefzi Olver – East Central

Diana Arellano – East Central

Mercedes Pena – Holland Hall

Hang Phan – Union

Peighton N. Forth – Central

Seung Young Kang – Victory Christian